Significant Day

Tonight I shot an image of the sun going down over some of our neighbours houses, a beautiful patch of orange,some grey and a very nice light blue and then it was dark. Tonight was my last coaching session with Jessica on Friday her Family will move to Ashburton.The great thing is another coach I have full faith in will continue with her development and she will be running with a very enthusiastic club. For me it was a great honour and a pleasure to encourage and develop the start of Jessica's running career and I believe a very bright future. Jessica made a thank you card for me and her Grandparents gave me a thank you card with some gift vouchers quite overwhelming . I would like to share one of my favourite images of Jessica running in our Club Cross Country Champs 2 weeks ago Jessica. Today we also remember that on this day 100 years ago New Zealand entered in the Great War where we suffered huge losses. Back then we were still a small country and many of the Soldiers who went away thought it was going to be a big adventure with many never to return. I remember Taffy yes he was Welsh telling me about what his father had said to him about one of his Uncles who was a boy of 17. "17 days from the plough to the grave" He died on the Somme. We have lots of Community Halls and War Memorials through out New Zealand these have names of the Soldiers who died in Battle and many are from the same Families. Brothers, Cousins, Uncles and Fathers LEST WE FORGET

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.