Bookshelf Wednesday

It's 22:55 and I'm in bed. Glancing at blip I realised I hadn't taken a photo today. Then, scanning through Facebook, I noticed that a friend had declared it to be 'Bookshelf Wednesday' and wanted to see photos of people's bookshelves! Ooh, this really appeals to me, I love to browse nosily through other people's books so I immediately took this shot and posted it to her.

This is the bookshelf in our bedroom... That's 'shelf' in the singular, but as you can see it's triple-stacked and rising higher by the month. Neither of us can resist a bargain and about 95% of these books are second hand, picked up on a whim from a book stall or charity shop. All are waiting to be read by either one of us or both of us. When a book has been read by us both (if we're both interested in reading it, our tastes overlap very little!) it's either taken back to a charity shop or, if we particularly loved it, it migrates to a shelf in another room to be kept. Or maybe given away at a later date!

I find this stack of books very satisfying, and I love to spend time choosing my next book when I'm nearing the end of my current one.

As an aside, I'm currently switching between 2: 'Dear Dodie', a biography of the author Dodie Smith by Valerie Grove, and the latest comic offering by David Sedaris, 'Let's Explore Diabetes with Owls'. Very different, but somehow quite complementary!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.