From the dark corner.....

By Rozwood1970

And then the sun rose over Loch Fyne...

Well, I knew that heavy rain was forecast but had to do this particular Waverley trip today or else forget about it until next year as the Glasgow built boat would be off down south to delight people there for a while. I wonder if retired and wealthy paddle steamer fans follow Waverley all over the country? I would!

Anyway, I will try to cut this short as there is too much to say. I will put all other Loch Fyne pictures somewhere accessible for you once I have sorted through them and let you know hopefully next blip.

On Tuesday evening, I decided to wander down to the harbour just to check out the quick route there to save time on Wednesday. I was glad I did as I was delighted to see Waverley parked up in the dock with just a few lights on enjoying an overnight rest. I took a few pictures and a few people living in the apartments and houses nearby wandered out to take pictures too. How fantastic to have the Waverley in your front garden overnight!

Mom walked me down to the boat the next day in the rain - she refers to it as 'the boat with the tin cans on the roof - before heading off to mass in the other direction.

I was on the boat a good half hour before it was due to set out and was soon joined by the dentist and his wife who are amongst mom's neighbours. They weren't doing the whole trip and were getting off for dinner at one of the ports on the way out. Ian assured me the sun would arrive at 2pm! We had a good laugh about the neighbours etc and Ian pointed out loads of interesting things along the route. With that and the great commentary over the speaker system, I learned plenty!

The sun did rise beaautifully in the afternoon I am glad to say which made standing on the deck a lot more pleasant.

I've got to go out now as I'm being glared at!

This picture was taken about halfway around the loch well after our last stop. I reckon it was a little place called Colintraive, a village in Argyll and Bute. I loved the reflections after such a grey start.

Go large...

Track? I fancy this one! - The Riverboat Song

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.