Voyage of a Beagle & Lab

By Inez

One of those days

I've had one of those days, not a feeling sorry for myself type of day - spoke to my friend today, she came home her hols to discover they had been broken into, Helen I'm feeling sorry for, I'm just going to make a wee wish for a better start to tomorrow when my head hits the pillow tonight.
Today had been carefully planned, Ky had to be taken to the supermarket where they were doing a bag pack to raise money for their Duke of Edinburgh expedition, she was warned to explain this to anyone who asked and not just say to raise money for a bus to the beach as she said to me! Josh had to be at football camp and I had a long list if chores and errands to be completed. Breakfast was done and dusted early and Coco and I were in the park by 8, we had a lovely long walk with friends but the beagle had to spoil it and rolled in something truly horrible as we made our way back to the car. No time to bath her when I got home, put her outside and chauffeured Josh to football. Home again I took a handful of wipes to Coco and got on with some other chores but there was no getting away from the fact the she would need bathed. When Ky came home we tackled bathing the beagle and for once, with the help of a wooden spoon and some peanut butter this was not too stressful, just the bath to be washed and peanut butter cleaned from the tiles, that's not something you say everyday! For once the whole bathroom didn't need cleaned and the floor was not awash! I was just congratulating myself and about to put the towels in the washing machine when I noticed a sinister puddle on the utility room floor. Opened the cupboard under the sink door and found it awash and most of the pots full of water, the waste pipe from the washing machine had come away. It took sometime to move everything and mop up what I could, I think it must have been just the last wash that had leaked because everything dried fairly quickly. Just as well I hadn't changed my wet jeans after the dog bath, I'd have only got a new pair wet sitting in a puddle on the floor.
The day improved considerably after this and I got lots done, absolutely everything I had planned, dinner is now on, just waiting on D coming home.
Oh, I lied when I said I didn't feel sorry for myself, I nicked my finger on the tin foil box while looking for something in the drawer and then got lemon juice in the cut, I did feel a little sorry for myself then but it's just been one of those days!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.