August Challenge; food. A toast to Anniemay

We’re back at the Urgent Care Centre at the hospital again; this time it’s around 3.00am and Anniemay’s climbing the walls. We keep getting different stories.

It’s an infection/it’s not an infection.


You need antibiotics first to kill the infection before we can remove the wax/you don’t need antibiotics ….

We realise this all started in Cornwall. She accepted a dare to swim in the sea. There appears to be a convention amongst both adults and children, to don wetsuits when swimming in the sea. The reason seems to be that the water is just too cold without one. Anniemay, having swum in icy pools in Scotland and Wales, needs no rubber costume and confounds our friends by making it look easy.

A few days later she mentions a mild earache. With no shower when we get home, she’s dunking her head in the bath to wash her hair and the earache gradually worsens; “childbirth’s got nothing on this..”

I feel helpless. When I was going though my cancer treatment I’d spend days climbing the walls too. She’d always say; “I wish I could take the pain away..” But I knew she couldn’t - no one can. I'd reply;“pain is temporary”. It is - but that’s no comfort to Anniemay right now.

She’s resting on the sofa and asks for some toast. Hmmm. Foody Friday. Blip doesn’t seem to go away either.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.