Raubrey

By raubrey

Lest we forget

Been a busy day and the onset of rain early this morning made my planned landscape shot a non-starter.

Today's blip is of the detail of a WWI medal. I love the imagery depicted on this medal. It saddens me when I visit flea markets and junk shops and see medals for sale and usually for very little money. When you think of the sacrifice of The Great War, then it is sad that an ancestor does not want to keep hold of such an heirloom.

A while ago, approached my local council for approval to site a new memorial in an spot which could be beautiful, but is a bit of an eyesore at the moment. I want to try and do something positive for the town as well as build a fitting monument to those who gave their life in conflict.

Please do not take my blip as political or any commentary on the current conflict, as it could not be further from the intention. I am trying to get my town to right a wrong from decades ago when we should have made more of an effort to pay our respect to those people who fought for our liberty.

I intend that the project will be undertaken by local craftsmen and would come from privately raised money, with the council only having to agree to give up a portion of land for the project.

A win:win situation one would think. Well, we shall wait and see.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.