Memories

A few years ago we had a holiday in The Isle of Man. We took the car across and stayed in a funny little B&B. We spent a lot of time exploring this lovely island, driving up and down the quiet country lanes, all lined with this wild fuchsia, some of it making really high hedges.
Going much further back, in 1944 I spent the summer in Oban in Western Scotland with my mother and sister, escaping the blitz in London. I was very young at the time, but always this fuchsia has made me think of Oban so I think it must be prolific there too.
Beautiful summer's day today with a light breeze, just right for gardening. Now we have to batten down the hatches as there is a hurricane on the way! A much diminished hurricane we are told, but it still could make life miserable for the 22,000 cyclists in Surrey tomorrow for the Ride London event.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.