yvonnekgray

By Dollykgray

Shapes and Shadows Saturday

This weekend I am attending an art course run by a local artist. I went to one of hers a year ago and thoroughly enjoyed interacting with like minds.
We went to a field near her studio this morning to sketch something to finish off in the studio. I passed up the picturesque church spire and the old barn, instead favouring this old pile of shapes and shadows. The artist was a bit mystified why I would want to paint this (I love a bit of decay) but she indulged me and helped me to develop the theme. A few more shapes than shadows in the morning sun but I had no time to blip today. This afternoon we drove to a beautiful lake that was teeming with ducks and ducklings, swans and cygnets, herons and butterflies. No time to blip as the sun was hot and the paint was drying quickly on the palette and the canvas. Then the daily thunderstorm struck and gone were the shadows.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.