An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

The Fovant Badges

Tuesday 5th August

Fovant's WWI Chalk Military Badges are a fitting reminder of the outbreak of WWI, the centenary of which was the previous day, at 11pm. When I was stuck at my friend Jonny's house, see Blip from day before.

Fovant is a west Wiltshire village, in the Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty Cranborne Chase. Signposted on the A30 as being 7 miles from Wilton, by road, my walk was going to take me high up on the Ox Drove ridge (just below 200m/600ft) than runs above the village for many miles in both directions and which host these chalk badges.

See them much better in LARGE

I had once cycled here with my friend Hadrian but when my friend Des drove us both out there, we could barely see the hill, let alone any chalk markings! OK, that was winter for you, but even in summer, the weather rises above the ridge and meets other fronts and cooks up a brew...

So, getting a bus that only went to Fovant and then beyond, but not to return back through, it was walk the approximate 10 miles back. It was raining and very grey that morning in Salisbury and on getting there, Fovant was no different!

Chinks in the clouds did start to appear and I waited over half an hour before enough sun came out to wash over the rather fabulous wheat field that the footpath ran alongside. A polariser helped bring out the best from the scene.

Lens is Nikkor 10-24mm

Once up on the ridge, it mainly follows a track that has high hedges and so few opportunities for views out over the wonderful landscape, which were far-reaching and heavenly from the harvest in full swing. Either fields of golden corn, tiny combines and tractors or looking like tiny distant play-things that were stacked straw bales.

One of my best walks, especially as the weather improved and the sun came out fully. I walked down from the ridge and reached Wilton for the bus home at about 8.30 pm.

Most enjoyable, tons of pics but felt that - at the time and all points since - that one of the Badges would have to be my Blip.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.