Mo's picture story

By jettygirlx

Trendy West-Endy!

My relationship with Byres Road goes back to the late 60s and early 70s when I was at Glasgow uni nearby, ate bacon rolls in the old Grosvenor Cafe and had my first "date" with a certain young butler at the Curlers. This interest received a reboot from '92-96 when I was back at uni again, part-time doing post-grad.

It has always had such character - and characters and has not yet become so affected as to be a caricature of trendy life. Woolworths and wee hippy shops like 'Aquarius" may have gone, but numerous coffee shops and , yes, extremely trendy little shops seem to be thriving.

We had a lovely trendy lunch with the Jazzman and were heading back to the clockwork orange when we spotted this. Obviously August is the trendy time to dispose of one's christmas tree!

A friend once said to me "you know, you're actually a West Ender who just doesn't live in the West End" I kind of see what she meant!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.