Looks Good To Me

By Pilipo

For Want of a Nail...

When I decided to start my next woodworking project a few days ago, I'd forgotten the difficulty I'd had cutting large pieces of plywood for the last big project, but I was soon reminded. I realized that it would be a lot easier if I had a crosscut sled -- a table saw accessory that I should have made a long time ago. It was time to do it!

To make the sled, I needed a sheet of Baltic Birch plywood, a very high grade that is sold in sheets 5ft/1.5m square. I wouldn't be able to haul it home on top of the Forester without making extension bars for the factory roof rack. But first, I had to go to the lumber yard for wood for the extension bars, seen in the photo.

At least I didn't have to make a special trip -- I was passing the lumber yard on my way home from a meeting this afternoon.

I couldn't help thinking about the proverb:

For want of a nail the shoe was lost,
for want of a shoe the horse was lost,
for want of a horse the knight was lost,
for want of a knight the battle was lost,
for want of a battle the kingdom was lost.
So a kingdom was lost—all for want of a nail.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.