Munroist4113

By Munroist4113

Fern

I had a lovely morning walking with a friend and her dog Fern. I love the look of Fern here, waiting for me to get a move on. We are coming off the moor, heading for the woods. Cheviot, 2674 ft, is the big lump on the right, and beyond it is Scotland. There are many climbing routes up Cheviot, from both countries, and over the years I've climbed most of them. I find climbed it with my parents when I was 10, from the Bowmont Valley but I think the easiest route is from the College Valley through Hen Hole. Though steep, it's not as unrelenting as the Pennine Way from Kirk Yetholm and there are some old crashed aircraft from WW2 to look out for. Going via the Harthope Burn is direct and evades the peat hags. Windy Gyle means a lot of walking on the stone slabs, once floors of Yorkshire Mills, laid to protect the bog. But whichever way you go, it's a great day out with amazing views into the Scottish Borders and Northumberland.

(Well so much for my 60 mile trip to the dentist - the new filling fell out and disappeared in my lunch.)


Sent from my iPad

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.