The Flood

Today I had a day off work, and as Brian is off too, we went over to Horncastle, a little market town about 20 miles away. It is known for antique shops, of which there are many.

I grew up about eight miles from Horncastle, and it's where I attended Grammar school from the age of 11. I was surprised that there are so many food premises - cafes, restaurants etc. that are there now. I think there was one cafe, one restaurant, two chippies and a Chinese take away back in the day! I'm surprised it can sustain so many as it has now! Only three businesses are still there from when I lived there: the newsagent, an electrical shop and a hardware shop (I worked for a time in the branch of the hardware shop that was in my village. It has closed now.)

The weather was not great today and we got caught in a heavy shower - after we'd eaten the chips we bought for lunch, fortunately! We'd managed to get several shots before this too, thank goodness!

I have chosen this one which shows the height the water reached when the town suffered flooding in October 1960. My parents married on 1 October that year, and returned from their honeymoon in Blackpool to find the town, where they were living at the time flooded!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.