HerbSusan

By HerbSusan

Every picture tells a story, don’ it?

Ex Uno Omnia (Everything Out of One) – Student Engagement Project at the Ashmolean Museum, 2014
“For the first time since it was carved in the late 17th century, Elias Ashmole’s portrait frame is displayed in our Ark To Ashmolean Gallery as an object in its own right.”

As a retired professor I’m fascinated by how many students now engage by photographing the blurb instead of taking notes. I must admit I never read my own notes (mainly because they never made any sense) but I’m equally sure I’d never read photographs of tutors’ notes. I sort of felt that the process of taking notes put something into my brain … in spite of the consensus thinking otherwise …
“Lectures are a way of transferring the notes of the lecturer to the notes of the student without passing through the brains of either.” Eric Mazur (amongst others ... and obviously Mark Twain, who is sited for just about every quote on education). Personally, I always felt the success of a lecture depended on the performance and story telling skills of the lecturer.

I wonder if anyone is doing any research into the usefulness or otherwise of photographing notes?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.