Humbear

By Humbear

Lofthellir ice cave

We had a lovely trip to Lofthellir ice cave today, even M has never been there and she has lived here for over 30 years.It is only possible to visit the cave with a tour company. I was a bit scared that I might not make it through the cave, since the opening is very narrow and one has to crawl in some places, and slide in others, made more difficult by the fact that the floor of the cave is covered in ice. But I managed, and the only casualty is a tear in my waterproof pants, it probably got caught on a icicle when I slid down the last slope.

We booked with the same company to go to the crater Askja on Tuesday, but heard on the news today that the road is closed due to some volcanic activity in a nearby volcano, so I am not sure what will happen to our trip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.