Technophobe

By Technophobe

True Colours

It's always a dilemma when buying outdoor kit. Do you buy bright day glo orange so the helicopter can spot you easily in the event of a mountain calamity, or do you choose tasteful rustic colours which won't frighten the sheep.
Being a shy retiring sort of person, I tend to favour the subtle approach so I bought waterproof trousers today in a shade somewhere between Cumbrian slate and dry sheep poo.  
We went out on a post lunch short stroll as I thought and sure enough it came on to rain. I was smugly glad of my new kit, but had understandably forgotten it was summer and still quite warm. The new trousers turned into a Turkish spa. The walk turned into an eight miler and we'd only had a very meagre sandwich for lunch.
Never mind we've tucked another couple of Wainwrights under our belts and are feeling better after beer and sausages.
The heather in the Lake District at the moment has to be seen to be believed. And my jacket is purple so I blended in well with it.
This is a little tarn too small to have a name , between Bleaberry  Fell and High Seat.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.