I spent a fair bit of today wrestling with the garden. The constant rain plus no time plus a broken lawn mower turned it into a slug-infested jungle. Yesterday I bought a new lawn mower (that was a story in itself....) and then spent ages screwing the stupid thing together. It was all easy until step 19 came along. There was a picture but no description of what it meant. I could see what I needed to put where but couldn't work out how. One hour later, after much staring at the lawn mower and being logical about it all whilst the mosquitos ate me, I worked it out. So, anyway, that meant I could start attacking the grass - first strimming, then mowing. Obviously, it took about 100 years longer than planned and also isn't finished. Partly because the rain made the grass so juicy it's like mowing stringy water and neither the strimmer nor the mower are particularly enthusiastic about it. So, while they sulked and cooled down, I tried to find the raspberry patch, which included cutting back this autumn buddleia - I bought a bit in to blip but by the time I got round to it, it was looking a bit shit, as can be seen in this photo. However, as it adequately represents how "wilted" I'm feeling, it's still a good subject.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.