Through the gap

Jamie's little pal from nursery at the school play park. (also happens to be my workmates little girl!)

This park was always really busy after nursery and was always filled with Jamie's pals. It had become part of the nursery day...

Today was a different story, just the two of them there, for two reasons;

1. Due to the nursery changing its opening and closing times causing the kids to leave at more staggered times rather than all the same time.

2. Most of Jamie's pals started primary 1 today. Including his BEST pal Caleb . They have stuck like glue together through nursery.

I felt so sorry for him today. All alone in the park apart from my friends little girl. (who he does already know and did play with)
He was a little withdrawn and a little grumpy most of the day.
He had cried last night saying he was sad cos Caleb wasn't going to be at nursery.
The happiest he was all day was when we bumped into Caleb in the village after school. He ran to him shouting his name over and over.
I had a lump in my throat.
We had the choice, due to his date of birth, to give him another year in nursery and we decided that it would be good for him. (we also had the same thing with our older son and haven't looked back.) and I think seeing him like this today just made me feel a bit sad, knowing that it's us that have put him in this situation.
I know that he will make new friends before we know it. That's how it is at that age. But I still felt bad.....

I'm hoping that tomorrow he'll be a little happier.
Myself and Calebs mum are good friends so the boys will still see each other and I'm sure their friendship will be long and strong but they will both have plenty other new friends to.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.