Cygnus

By Cygnus

The stile

I know this is a very uninspiring title, but I couldn't think of anything more enticing. This little stile leads in to a lovely walk past fields and a wee lake before heading steeply up towards Helen's Tower.

The Tower is in Clandeboye Estate in County Down and troops trained in this area before leaving to fight in France during WWI. There is now a replica of Helen's Tower near Thiepval. The 'Ulster Tower' was built in 1921 and is a memorial to both the Irishmen who fought in the Battle of the Somme as well as all the Ulstermen who died in the Great War.

Some day I will gather up the energy to climb to Helen's Tower for a blip. It is a very tree-lined, shady spot, so I will need to learn a bit more about lighting before having a go.

Got some prep done in school today, so I felt I had achieved something other than attending seemingly endless meetings. The girls return next week and I'm looking forward to my new classes :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.