"Straight as a Die"

What a strange expression but I use it often to describe something that is dead straight. However the Die in this phrase is a Dice and a dice can be straightish I suppose but anyway I'm rambling.... like this road, which I have always thought must be Roman...but "No" I hear you cry "You are wrong young Sir". It was in fact constructed in the 1700s but a local landowner at a cost of a guinea a yard I think I read somewhere.

This is a cheat blip I'm afraid as I took it yesterday. I am standing in the centre of Merton Road looking toward Ambrosden with Merton behind me. The thing is I quite liked this shot with those threatening clouds. They almost made me turn around and go home but fortunately they blew over as they often do & headed south.

Today I have collected the shop from Mr Tesco & then checked that R is ok. Then I went to get some petrol for the mower which leads to another job later today.

The shopping is all filed, Merlot is yawing at me for some food & I'm hungry too.

Still not heard anything from the Hens who are due back after lunch...oh God...women giggling loudly as they recount what happened at their do last night.

Cool day again but the sun keeps trying to peer through the clouds but he seems to get overrun more often than not.

Hope everyone enjoys the BH weekend & I know that a lot of you will be back at work next week.....fortunately for me I am retired so...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.