Not Even Close

50 miles per hour? Not even close. 05 miles per hour wasn't even happening. There I was, stuck on the bridge between Oregon and Washington over the Columbia River in our Honda Fit (small car). Behind me, SUV. In front of me, semitruck. And we were going nowhere! It was completely disconcerting. The southbound lanes were almost at a complete stop while the northbound lanes were whizzing by. And with every passing semitruck, the Fit vibrated and swayed and I remembered I was many, many feet above water. Combine that with the worry that the SUV on my tail, if hit, would smush me into the back of the trailer truck in front of me. Quite disconcerting indeed. Oh, and yes, it was pitch black. This is one of those big city moments that I do not miss living in rural Washington. I used to drive from Washington to Oregon everyday to go to work and traffic like this was just part of life. Now a traffic jam is when it takes 15 or 20 minutes to get from one side of town to the other (rather than the usual 10) or when you can see 10 cars in front of you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.