Tommy0161

By Tommy0161

Victoria Station...

I'd seen an aerial picture of the new roof at Victoria Station. They had started glazing the roof and it appeared to be blue. So I went to investigate it on the ground.

One of the problems of Victoria Station is that it also is one of the main entrances to the Manchester Arena. This means that when there's one of the frequent huge concerts, there are huge numbers of people getting mixed up with commuters trying to use Victoria to get home. What they have done is design a high level walkway that will filter the concert goers from the commuters at station level.

I think I'm on the high level part when I took this picture looking towards the CIS Tower. The roof looks good and is going to be stunning when it's finished.

And the blue colour wasn't the glass sadly. It was blue netting under the glazed roof, slung there to catch it should it fall before it's properly fixed...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.