Wonky windows and rooftops

These buildings are so old that it's hardly surprising they're a bit wonky! I decided a sepia treatment would work well.

On the left is the oldest building in Frome that has a Grade II listing, which houses Café La Strada – my favourite café in the town as it serves the best coffee. They also make the most divine Spanish Almond cakes (I may have mentioned them before!) This building is at the top of Cheap Street, which existed before 1500 and which has a leat (stream) running down the middle.

On the right is another Grade II listed building, the Three Swans, which recently opened after a long closure. It’s old, being one of 43 inns marked on the 1744 map of Frome, but it’s probably not the oldest as it ‘only’ dates back to the late 16th century: the Angel (now called the Archangel) is believed to have its origins in the 14th century.

In other news, I decided against getting that tattoo – but I did remember to check my focal length and shutter speed today!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.