creature of contrariness

Some of you may recall the great shoe shopping debacle of 2013 during which Eve threw such an almighty tantrum in John Lewis that she made herself sick over a display of shoes and then threw wild punches at the (very kind and patient) shoe fitter. Mum saved the day by bribing Eve with a cherry scone and maintaining her cool even when I was on the edge of a meltdown of my own. Having seen firsthand the devastation that Eve can wreak upon shoe shops, Mum also invested in Eve's very own foot measure and spent endless occasions measuring bears' feet with Eve in a bid to win her round.

Despite the recent spells of rain, a foot growth spurt and the fact Eve only has sandals, I have resisted the very necessary task of purchasing replacement shoes as I couldn't face the drama without my dear Mum holding our hands. But I could put it off no longer so this morning Antony and I coaxed Eve's feet into said measuring gauge with promises of blueberries galore. I did an online order for some boots which were on sale but really needed to try some styles on. Ju and I headed to the shoe shop and it was dramatic to say the least. But at least we didn't have to risk a shoe fitter being assaulted as I had already measured those pesky feet. We emerged with frazzled nerves and new shoes with bunny faces upon the toes. Eve was still sobbing and refusing to acknowledge the wondrousness of her new footwear. I was counting my lucky stars that she didn't vomit on anyone or anything and I think Grandad was very much wondering how on earth he'd been landed with the task of first assistant.

Contrary as ever, when we arrived home Eve disappeared off to find Seb and I found her a few minutes later like this..... she was putting the shoes on to model them for the cat and telling him how lovely they are.

I so desperately want to tell my Mum about our slow and steady shoe progress and her ever feisty granddaughter.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.