Our Journey is a process

By journeysprocess

Glenwood Canyon

Gentle rocking motion . . .

Clunky-clunk, clickty-clack . . .

Screech-rub-rub-screech-rub-rub-rub . . .

Sleeping on a train is a bittersweet affair. The noise of a train in motion takes some getting used to. But being lulled to sleep by the gentle rocking is wonderful.

The train stops. I wake up and look out the window to utter blackness. Then, much to my surprise, another train passes in the night. The train begins again with its peculiar by soothing noises and I quickly drift off to sleep again. The train stops again, but this time it seems much longer. But I hardly notice and fall back asleep.

About 6:30a.m., there is a gentle knock on the door from the sleeper attendant reminding me that I have a breakfast reservation at 6:45. I quickly dress and make my way to the dining car, to be greeted by 4 very cheerful dining car attendants and many very sleepy passengers. After breakfast, I shower (yes! you can do that on trains, although it is a balancing act!) and ready myself for the day. I prepare my camera for the amazing sights that I will see and head off to the sightseeing car. But, I am disappointed. Even this early in the morning, ever seat is taken – even in the club car. So, I head back to my cabin – the very last cabin on the train. At least I have two windows to look out of – one on each side of the train. Yes, they are dirty, but they will have to do. So, I reset my camera for fast exposures and a higher than normal ISO.

We pass through beautiful panoramas in Utah, then on to Colorado. The Glenwood Canyon, pictured here, is stunning, even though it is overcast and rainy. The train stops again outside of Glenwood Canyon for well over an hour, putting us now about an hour behind schedule. But, for me, I was happily ensconced in my novel (oh yeah, and a nice glass of wine). Later, we meander through another beautiful canyon created by the Colorado River. We pass through wide open “parks” with mountains all around as we head through Fraser , then to Winter Park. At last we head through the Moffat Tunnel. The tunnel was named after by railroad pioneer, David Moffat, and completed in 1928. The tunnel passes under the Continental Divide and extends for over six miles. After the tunnel, we travel for another 30 miles or so, descending through Coal Creek Canyon to a long plateau west of Denver. We wind down the plateau, and experience fantastic views of the Denver Metro area shrouded in immense thunderhead clouds.

Upon our arrival at Union Station in Denver, we are greeted with an downpour from one of the thunderstorms, causing all of us who got off the train to scurry for cover. J found me, we found my luggage, and we were off to our Colorado house.

So, yes, in spite of the dismal start, the trip was restful - just what I needed before the “mess” that awaited me at the house.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.