Over the Horizon

By overthehorizon

Sleepy eyed afternoon

Last night we went out on the town, relatively speaking. One of the most difficult things to juggle for this job is a balance between the responsibility of looking after wonderful but sometimes naive college students while encouraging them to explore and experience life for themselves. I tend towards strongly promoting the latter, in my own life and with others, but being in this position I have to think differently all the time.

The other night after dinner in Cuenca together and a few beers around the table Seth and I let them loose on the town to have fun and blow off steam. This is definitely good experience for parenting one day because when Seth and I walked away the other night after nearly a month with these guys we kept second guessing ourselves like a bunch of dad's....."crap, we didn't give a time they should be back by did we?"..."so and so is gonna attract a lot of unwanted attention"..."did we make it clear to take taxi's back instead of walking?"...followed by, "well, I hope we don't get fired for this....?" It makes me laugh. Being so responsible for others gives you such very different eyes on the world.

Of course all was fine and we had nothing to worry about. We wrapped up a couple classes in the afternoon and then I met with Jenny and Chris about my photo show coming up. Its' my very first photography exhibition and I'm so excited. I am picking out the selections tonight!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.