Over the Horizon

By overthehorizon

The uses of light

"It warms my bones
Say the stones

I take it into me and grow
Say the trees
Leaves above
Roots below

A vast vague white
Draws me out of the night
Says the moth in his fight--

Some things I smell
Some things I hear
And I see things move
Says the deer--

A high tower
On a wide plain.
If you climb up
One floor
You'll see a thousand miles more."

Gary Snyder--from Turtle Island

We did a natural history class in the the morning. Annie Dillard and Gary Snyder, two of my very favorite writers. In the afternoon I did a lecture and so the day went, interrupted by the rain. Torrential but only so brief beating down on the roof in sheets so loud I couldn't even hear myself talking....so I adjurned class of course and we ran out into the deluge.

Earlier, sunshine bright and crisp all morning. Brightening up breakfast. The most colorful thing all day! Cereal, yoghurt, bananas, kiwis, honey, and flax seed. A mandala of goodness.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.