It's a baldy bald life!

By DrK

Getting Wet

What a day!

It was peeing down but I had in my mind that I wanted a PB at South Manchester ParkRun so set off regardless.

Everyone was congregating under shelter as I arrived. I had got the later train so my warm-up had been to cane it to the start and then do a quick lap round the boating pond to get my running legs on. On starting, I felt something brushing my leg.....oh no.....my lace was coming loose! How could that be? I had carefully tied a double knot on the train.

There was no option but to stop and tie the blasted thing! I found myself surrounded by slower runners now, kicked hard and set off to my rightful place in the field. Unfortunately, I lost awareness of my senses until it was too late. I had gone too hard and willpower wasn't going to see me through! I relaxed in the knowledge that there was no hope for a PB so decided that a personal worst was a better goal. I achieved it!

Then I set off to Salford for a swim. Ohhhh no....the bridge was up at the Imperial War Museum and time was already at a premium. Only one thing for it....I pulled my wetsuit out and started getting changed beside some bewildered tourists waiting for the bridge too. Eventually, the bridge came down and I cycled on my Brompton past the Lowry in a rubber suit.

After the swim, I headed back to Platt Fields when I realised I had left my running top and cap on the fence. Fortunately, it was still there 2 hours later! I went home, via Eighth Day for some veggie goodies, and fell asleep for the rest of the afternoon. Did some writing in the evening and then fell asleep!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.