A MIMent In Time

By justmim

Going to see the end of festival fireworks was one of the first things that I did when I moved to Edinburgh 5 years ago to start university. In fact, it is entirely possible that I hadn't fully unpacked at that point!

Looking back, that weekend was full of emotions, thoughts and fears as I prepared to begin a new life stage in a city which had always seemed so familiar. Standing on Waverley Bridge to watch the fireworks with my new flatmate and hundreds of strangers this 'small town girl' knew not what lay ahead but had the wonderful sense of being in the right place. Some things have changed, but that God-given sense of peace hasn't.

It doesn't matter how many firework displays I see, watching the sky fill with sparkling explosions of colour always catches my breath. I still revert back to childish excitement! Tonight was no exception as we had secured a spot with a good view and within reach of the concert speakers so were able to enjoy the 'choreography' in its fullness.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.