But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Cyclists Welcome.

Stopping for lunch at a local garden emporium, I noticed this notice; as Jnr once commented, "If you notice this notice, you'll notice that it's not worth noticing."

VisitScotland, the latest incarnation of the Scottish Tourist Board is running out a number of "be friendly to minority groups" initiatives. They cover: motor cyclists, fishermen, walkers and even horses - to name but a few. Oddly enough, horse riders are not included in the scheme. To qualify for the "Cyclist Friendly" logo they have to hold a first aid kit, a pump and a spare inner tube. I hate to knock such initiatives but shouldn't everybody be friendly to everybody else anyway. Actually, this establishment is o.k: soup, sandwiches, scones, coffee - all very good, just steer clear of "Simple Simon's Super Pies," we tried them the other week - they're ghastly.

On the subject of being friendly, only the other day, a companion and myself were turned away from the empty "Horseshoe Inn" in Eddleston for wearing cycling clothes. It used to be such a welcoming place - serving gourmet burger and chips; I'm not joking when I say that that, but I won't be going there again, even if I am appropriately dressed.

In a similar vein, I used to know someone whose ambition in life was to open a pub which would display the sign, "Cyclists, tatty pickers and gypsies only." To the best of my knowledge he didn't succeed.

I've just posted yesterday's "Trehenna from Glenholm."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.