Oregon State Fair

It's been maybe eight years or so since we darkened the doors of the Oregon State Fair, but we did it today. Oh my…mounds and mounds of cardiac-stopping curly fries, T-shirts reading "Venison - It's What's For Dinner"; pink cowboy hats; pens of pigs, goats, and cattle (not a fan of animals at the fair); and every product from blenders to greenhouses for sale. It's quite a scene, but you know that.

We could have stayed to watch The Beach Boys, but we passed. We heard them in their soundcheck, but somehow, 70-something year old guys singing, "I wish they all could be California girls," seemed not that right.

We spent most of the afternoon watching dogs fly through the air, like this. But the dog I wanted to feature is this one, this corn dog. It's my once a year indiscretion - greasy, a little soggy, salty, and I loved every bit of it. Oregon State Fair - see you in 10 years.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.