Quiet

Shot during the short but casual stroll hubby and I took after dinner.

Went to work, including an hour spent at the Rotterdamse Schouwburg. 'Schouw' has the same vowel sound as 'cow' but is actually the origin of the English word 'show', so you might now guess what the Rotterdamse Schouwburg is -- correct! It is the city theatre! The university rented one of the auditoriums today for the intercultural presentation which is part of our introduction week for freshmen. Atrocious English, though ...

Actually, the English word 'show' has also found its way into the Dutch language; it is used to mean 'to show' as in 'to parade' or 'to show off' in the positive sense.

But that's the English teacher lecturing again. Am not at work now, though, but at home. And it's practically bedtime.

I like the way the tree is half hiding the house. Exactly my mood when I'm tired.

Actually, I just like the tree. Never mind the house.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.