KarmaTengye

By KarmaTengye

Matty

I've just returned from the funeral for this little boy. Matt and his older brother Ryan were both born with a genetic syndrome called Cockayne Syndrome. Ryan died 2 years ago and Matt died on Monday. Both boys were part of the Wednesday afternoon group at SARDA (SA Riding for Disabled), where I was privileged to volunteer for a number of years.
It's hard to describe what I felt when Matty first reached out his hand towards me and looked at me with eyes full of love. Not just for me, but everyone who interacted with him would have drowned in those eyes. I felt awkward ... no-one had ever looked at me quite like that before.
I've been blessed to look into Matty's eyes since then and realise how limitless and pure love can be. A love which asked for nothing and was given to everyone he encountered. This world has lost an angel. May you return quickly special boy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.