Life of a bubble maker

By redditchrascal

Gullane Triathlon

Not technically taken by me but Meh!
Early start this morning, as I needed to be in Gullane by 7.30 to get ready for my first Triathlon. Decided to have a go at doing this in the New Year and booked this event as the major one for this year. Sadly our friend died in May after a long fight with a brain tumour so I have used this event as my main fund raising effort. Here is a link to my Just giving page if you would like to donate to Brain Tumour Research.

Conditions were good. The sea was flat and it wasn't too sunny and stayed dry. I went out in the second wave with around a hundred other competitors. Managed to finish the 1.5Km swim, 42Km bike ride and 10K run in 3hrs 1 min and 4 seconds according to my watch.
Very happy with that time as I thought 3hrs 30 mins would be a good time for me.

J came along and took some other photos. While I was out on the bike ride she went for a swim as well.

Glad to get to the end especially as the last 2K of the run was hard work. We were also given a bottle of beer from the Stewart brewery at the finish line as they were sponsoring the event. Result.
Back home for a bath and to watch the qualifying for tomorrow. Spending the rest of the day resting. Might go for a swim on Portie beach in the morning though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.