Appreciation

By Appreciation

In town today I was taken by how many new students were filling the streets. Gangs of young people huddled together for comfort and safety, stuffing their fresh faces with take-away food and struggling to make conversation with new found friends. A new town, a new beginning, the separation from all things familiar.

From the top of the bus I observed this very personal moment. A mother standing to leave and her daughter hugging the very bones of her. She needed that hug to last and it did. She needed that re-assurance that we give, without words, that everything will be alright.

I was reminded that I shall soon be giving that hug to my girl as she leaves again for another year. I'm not ready for it, not as prepared as I would like. She however is more than ready. That's a good thing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.