Over the Horizon

By overthehorizon

Balcony view

Today was a rare free day for me. A big lazy morning reading and writing, sipping on coffee. Then....

I wandered into town. So much to do on my list but it seems like it never gets done. I enjoy the fine weather and taking in the day too much. Though I did manage to get my photo selections picked up as well as pick out some new ones. They look great! I wandered the square and it was so nice on the benches under the church spires I had to just linger for a moment and people watch. Pure calm in the midst of the city. Finally I found a wonderful cafe tucked in a nook on Gran Colombia.

It was an old hacienda with style and an international menu to boot. Since they had wifi I stayed and caught up on my last blips, some emails, and the latest same old news. A lazy day catching up with the laptop and sipping on mora batidos before heading back to meet the students for dinner at the house.

This is the view peeking out the balcony of my work nook today. This is the best I could do for blips today. Cuenca really is gorgeous downtown, in fact it is a world heritage site. When the late afternoon sun hits sideways across the tiled roofs and cobble streets the light melts like butter over the pastels. Pure calm at days end, warm and breezy like a summer afternoon. I like it here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.