Scharwenka

By scharwenka

Of Figs, Vines, and Mending Fences

... Or on uses for blue rope.

The fence belongs to our neighbour, but is being pulled down by our attachments. The post is snapped at the bottom. Rogue builders gave a very high quote for replacing.

DIY instead. But I hadn't got far down making a hole when I found a 6" blue plastic pipe. The builders would certainly have gone through it. What's it for? Water? Gas? Cable TV? Maybe even 98 sans plomb if I'm lucky?

Anyway, as a temporary alternative, I've shored up the post. Maybe that kind of 'temporary' that lasts a long time: after all, this technique seems to have worked well with some medieval cathedrals...

Now we can tie vine and fig to the fence again, and horticulture can proceed apace.

May I wish everyone a romantic day of St Valentine, and a prosperous Chinese New Year of the Tiger.

The point of the 'photo is to show the use of blue polypropylene rope that a dear friend had serendipitously given me. As I said to my spouse, who does not necessarily always agree with every word I pronounce, this blue will be inconspicuous, and blend in well with the green of the mould on the fence.

And the real, real point is that I thought the patterns of gnarled vine and smooth fig branches might make a nice Blip!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.