My happy little life

By khoola

Food for thought

Another day at home with the swollen one, so dragged him out for a long walk.

I get fairly random questions fired at me while we're walking, which normally don't lead anywhere in particular. Until today. So following various questions about how people's names change when people get married, I've finally been pushed into the corner of having to explain my parentage - something that I've been carefully avoiding for quite a while now. The silly thing is, it's hardly a secret that I was raised by my mum and step-dad, and that I don't see my dad, but it's not something I wanted to have to explain to the kids if I didn't need to. I wanted to make sure I explained it as simply as I see it; one bloke made me, the other one raised me - and I know which one is more entitled to call himself a father. I'm very wary of describing people as "real" mum / dad / sibling / family - as if the relationships with the people who've loved and cared for you all of their lives are somehow not real. Thankfully Jamie accepted most of the information happily, asked fairly simple questions (with the exception of some nicely side-stepped ones which seemed to be leading to explaining how babies are made...), and seemed happy with the answers given.

After a fairly lengthy and emotive discussion, I asked if he understood everything that we'd talked about. He said yes. I asked him if he was happy with what we'd talked about. He said yes. I asked him if he had anything else he wanted to ask me....

"Yes mummy, I do"

"Why did the Germans throw bombs at us in the war"?!????

His time off school has been educational

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.