The Little Lyle Files

By kevinwatters

Home From Home

This is day two of our holiday and have taken two days to drive to Scotland as my energy levels would have made it impossible to do it in one. However, we are now firmly settled into the caravan site in a pitch with very easy access to the toilet block: we wouldn’t normally pitch so close to the toilet but needs must. I learned my lesson when we went to Cambridge at the end of May and I had to trip across the length of the site to get to the toilet block and that was not fun if I have to visit in the middle of the night.

The weather is nice and we had a relaxing day. Not true at all as this afternoon we went for a tour of the Royal Yacht Britannia at Ocean Terminal in Edinburgh. I really enjoyed the tour but it was very, very tiring; it is not the most beautiful vessel ever seen but I’ve always liked it and assumed it would be much more lavish than it actually is. I can see why it was decommissioned as the maintenance would have been vast and the number of crew required to sail it and serve the Royal Family was vast. One of the things I have wanted to do ticked off my list though and on my birthday.

As a birthday treat we had dinner at Ocean Terminal for convenience and chose Frankie & Benny’s to suit the children. It turned out that there was about one thing on the menu that was not on my banned foods list. Well that’s not true but most dishes had a variety of banned items so wasn’t worth ordering them.

Back-blipped on 10th September 2014

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.