Sailfish

By sailfish

Radio-head

This is a blip of the screen on my digital radio - which is significant for a few reasons.

Firstly this particular radio has been my constant companion since I received it as a gift 5 or 6 years ago. It was a very thoughtful gift from someone I was very close to for a long time.

Secondly I've spent a lot of sleepless nights recently, pacing round the flat waiting for painkillers to kick in. I've noticed that the nights I spend with the radio on are easier to get through than the ones where is stays off. Less lonely somehow.

Thirdly today was the day I heard that Phil Archer passed away. Of course Norman Painting, the actor who plays Phil, sadly passed away in October 2009, so it didn't come as a huge shock, the character was going to go sometime.

My grandparents never missed an episode of the Archers, consequently I've been listening to it since before I can remember. The theme tune, in its various guises takes me back to their kitchen and Grandma's date slice in the blink of an eye. Happy days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.