Corn/fields

I see corn and fields and farms every day - I pass them on my way to work, I ride my bike past and through them and I have a few close enough to call neighbors.
I've lived in other places, but I've never felt lucky to be living there like I do here.

I know it won't last forever - a lot of people see wide open spaces and wonder how many houses (or worse) they can cram into it, and those people usually have a lot of money and only care about making more.

True story: a local township was talking about increasing a certain tax by a very small amount so that they could purchase some land for preservation. One of the residents commented at a public meeting that he was against the tax because "we already have enough open space."

I would gladly pay that tax. I'd even pay that idiot's portion.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.