Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

Team Work

In each of my classes this week I divided the students into six groups. My students are currently working on summary writing. That means they have to read a variety of articles, and first and foremost, they have to find the main point of each article before they can accurately summarize it.

I have approximately 30 students in each class, so 120 students total. This week 2 students in each class located a main point in one article that provides the signal "the point is" by the author of the article. So 112 students missed the signal the author gave them. Sheesh!

Today each of the six groups were busy writing on the whiteboard when I captured this photo.

I think this week all my students have realized that they've got to give their studies their undivided attention. They realize that missing the three words "the point is" was a mistake made by students who lacked focus.

So that's my report for this Thursday.

Good night from Southern California,
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.