Porty People and Nearby Places

I was uncomfortable this weekend, a year ago, when an army of extreme Scottish Nationalists paraded through the capital to a rally addressed by Alex Salmond on Calton Hill.

I was equally uncomfortable today when an army of Orange Order unionists, double in number to last year's SNP Parade, drummed, flagged, fifed and grimaced their way through the city.

I was even more uncomfortable when, for the first time in my life, I was moved on by Police Scotland for stoppping to take a blip, from the North Bridge - " No one is allowed to wait here, sir, in case they drop anything onto the parade passing below."

But all of this discomfort paled into insignificance when I did not see a single Yes supporter anywhere in the city today. Not a single Yes support, flag or banner. That was really spooky. Had they been warned off? Were they Policed out?

My disappointment was confounded by the The Yes Scotland campaign claim that today would be the "biggest day of national campaigning" Scotland has ever seen. Source BBC Website News.

On a day when a tragic act of arson ripped through a Mancunian Dogs' Home and took the lives of over 60 dogs and over a million pounds was donated, within hours of the news breaking. to help the surviving dogs I think this blip wins the publication spot over all the other potential blips I took today.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.