Looking Forward...

By Fiono

Dutch Wedding

Today was a first for me and a few of my friends. It was our first wedding in a foreign country.

There were some interesting contrasts to other weddings I've attended in recent years. We were served coffee beforehand and everyone attending the ceremony was introduced. Cue awkward waves and applause but it was nice to be fed before the ceremony and work out who was who. It was my first ceremony in a church where hats were usually mandatory so I took the opportunity to purchase my first fascinator. There was no ceilidh/disco in the evening. Instead was an evening full of food, speeches, more food, skits, and more food! The ice cream buffet in particular was a highlight.

It was a beautiful day and I loved getting to catch up with my friends from home as well as see Catherine and Wilbert makes their vows before God. I do enjoy a good wedding!

(This photo wasn't taken by me but it is one of my favourites from the day. The official "Catherine's CU friends from uni" photo)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.