SueV

By SueV

Volans at Volans

I think this is what is etched in stone above Staffield Hall next door. We came to live here purely by chance about 17 yrs ago - no previous connection. After a year or so we noticed that our name was engraved on the stone above the front door (minus an L) you spell my surname 'Vollans'. Strange co incidence or Destiny. I have half heartedly looked into it but then when websites want to charge you after enticing you in with something juicy I lose heart. I have found reference to birds, bats and a Volans constellation in the Southern Hemisphere. I have heard it is related to fish and Draco Volans meaning dragon lizard and none of these seem to match up with the building and the date and the original family the Denmans.
Anyone know the meaning of these words???

This is what happens when you go out to Ullswater in stunning late light and clear skies, armed to the teeth with camera equipment - but no SD Card.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.