. . . O H . . . . WHOMP !

Went out again this morning, hoping the surf was still up - and it was, but much less and going down. Being a Monday morning, only a handful of people were out. Could not resist the verticality of this one, its "whomp" felt as well as heard.
The top contender to this one showed the misty rain (so dark greys) off to my right against the rocks, an escalating breaking wave, and a rainbow brightening, ending in the wave against the sunlit beach, bracketed by two people engrossed in the waves. Can you picture it?

Saw myself on TV tonite, ten o'clock news - my 3 seconds of fame, so to speak: They were reporting that this was serious surf (1,100 incidents over the weekend) and advised people to stay out of the water unless you were skilled. Saying it was safer to watch from shore, they showed a closeup of 3 of us and my camera and I were first in line.
I had noticed a marked TV car, but they were staying up at a vantage point in the parking lot. Later a quick glance around showed a camera man and reporter down on the sands back to my left, but only in passing. He had a big telephoto video and he shot right down the beach. I always wear a long, bright turquoise blue jacket, he must have liked the colour. I only stayed about 2 hours, but, got to say, being on TV (even in a non-speaking role) was icing on the cake!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.