Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

House of a different order

A house like yesterday, but, well, you get it.. Wouldn't you have to be lucky to live in a house like this?

So, it's Avington Park, just outside Winchester, not particularly big as these sort of houses go, but very beautiful. I may have blipped it before so I may have told you this, but it's where Charles II parked Nell Gwyn when he went to Winchester to see how the building of his new Versailles look-alike was getting on (never finished). The reason why she didn't go into the city with him is that the Bish wouldn't allow such a high-profile fallen woman within his city gates.

When I took this blip I saw about 20 pairs of swans on the lake. What they were all doing there I have no idea, but there were also Canada geese and ducks and the honking was something horrible. I've seen quite a few heron here before but never so many swans..

Hope you've had a good day - thanks for your kind comments yesterday xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.