The Railway Children

Jacob's Diary

Today we headed back down the road from Montrose.
Dad had been to the toilet 3 times before we left.
It must've been the chilli, lime and ginger king prawn skewer he barbecued last night after the beach. 24 king prawns it had on it. He shared some though.

On the way home we picked strawberries and tayberries, fed some chicks, did the grand prix go-karts, jumped through haybale assault courses, trampolened and went on large chutes and hammock swings.

Dad decided we should visit the Caledonian Steam Railway.
Then he decided we shouldn't. He did an equation on the entrance fee and the kind of exhibits and entertainment covered by said fee. As you can see, Disneyland it ain't.
Apart from that my usually tight-as-a-snare-drum father really let me know I was on holiday for 2 days cos he bought me an ice-cream yesterday and today he put the air-con on in the car (albeit for five minutes - "That should do" he said, "the fan can take over from here").

When we got home the treats just kept on coming. A special dinner! Not just any special dinner. This was M&S Gastropub dinner. We then watched Jaws. I'm three years old and this could be viewed as careless parenting but I insisted I'd be fine. Dad kept switching it over to the news channel at some crucial points though. I wasn't scared and, in fact, took my shark book to bed to look at the pictures of the Great Whites.
Mum and Dad watched "Blood Diamond". Dad said it had been over-hyped and was rubber-stamped with Hollywood "subtlety". "Syriana, City of Gold and Apocalypto combined to be nowhere near as good as any of those three" he reckoned. I'd never heard of any of those movies. He said he was disappointed.

He does say a lot of things though.
Me and Mum just sigh when he does.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.