The Speed of Light

By MartyMcG

'twas the night before the referendum...

It is no exaggeration to say that tomorrow is a big day for Scotland and for the UK. Possibly the most important day since the Act of Union in 1707 where the Kingdoms of England and Scotland were spliced.

I have been viewing the debate from afar and have been disappointed with the campaign - particularly in recent months and weeks - for its lack of vision, its lack of a clear message on either side, the roller coaster of emotions which have erupted on social media and the general way that some have been unable to recognise that it is actually ok to have a different opinion. Far from the "joyous" debates which the First Minister reports on, I have seen viciousness, pettiness, straw clutching on an industrial scale and a general disregard for the views of others. A division driven right through the heart of the Scottish people.

As an ex-pat I am excluded from voting in the referendum. On questioning the Scottish Government directly, I was informed that providing a vote to ex-pats added a layer of administrative complexity which was not workable on the run up to this vote. I should add here that this "administrative complexity" is something afforded to me as an ex-pat in General Elections - and the referendum on Scottish independence uses the electoral register as its base for voting. So here I am - excluded from a vote which could change my nationality. Or to put it another way...a 16 year old non-Scot, who is resident in Scotland, will be able to influence my nationality tomorrow - but I will not. How can this be fair?

So in a few hours, voting at the polling stations will commence. It is surreal to be watching it as a spectator but I hope that after the ballot papers have all been counted and a winner announced, the people of Scotland will accept the decision, bury their personal feelings, and get on with the job of making Scotland great again.


Copyright © 2014 Martin McGougan. All rights reserved.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.