Inverculain

By Inverculain

Harbour lights in the fog

I arrived in Scotland tonight, and I'll be here until Monday. I've only taken the new compact with me, so over the next few days, other commitments permitting, I'm looking forward to putting it through its paces.

When I landed in Aberdeen, though, it was in thick fog - I couldn't see the other side of the airfield! I drove north without spotting much I could see well enough to shoot, and when I got to Buckie, though the fog was a bit more patchy, it was getting dark. I decided to go down to the harbour to try to get some quick shots of the lights.

I took a few, and my main reaction when I saw them later was I was surprised how high an ISO rating the rx100 had chosen (3200 for some shots); on the a77 I can limit that, and I must see if I can work out how to do the same on this. Despite that, though, I think it's captured the atmosphere of the scene pretty well.

Take a closer look at the foggy lights here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.